Fort Meat


When I was young, my Mother would say I was a Fussy Eater. But as every young Boy Knows, Eating is a Wast of Time. Especially if It’s Summer and it Stays Light Late…I would Wolf the stuff on my plate only half of the things I liked.

As I learned later on in Life…It’s all in the Presentation. This one meal that my Mother made, very simple and basic. Was just Sauteed Ground Chuck, Mash Potatoes, Peas n Carrots. With or without Applesauce…I would eat half the Meat n Potatoes, until my Father left the table. Then Bang I would be OUT the Door. Mom complained to Dad about this…Well the Next time we had this, my Father Served Me my Dish.

He put the Mash Potatoes in the Center of the Dish, with the center cleared out. In the Center he put the Ground Beef and on Top of that he put the Peas n Carrots, with a little Flag made from a piece of Wonder Bread Package on a tooth pick.

He told me it was a Fort and the Peas n Carrots were Fighting to Capture the Flag…well you know where that took a young boys Imagination….

So to this Day I still call it FORT MEAT…

So that’s my Story and I’m Sticking too It…Oh, I did Eat it All and at times asked for Seconds…

Leave a Reply

